How to Reset HP Ink Level (HP 27@28 and HP 21@22)

HP 27 & 28 Reset Ink Levels

A while back I purchased a refill kit for my Ink jet printer because I had planned on printing a lot of photos and such because I loved the quality of my new HP printer compared to my old Lexmark. Yesterday, I decided to refill the ink cartridges because I was getting a little low and I needed to print 4 8×10 photos with my printer. The refilling went fine, although a little messy, but I got it refilled and the photos printed. The only bad thing is when i put the cartridges back in, the HP printer remembered the cartridge and its ink level. So it kept reporting that I was low, when I was not. I think the printer would continue to print even if I did not reset it, but I wanted to use it to estimate how much ink I had left until I need to refill again.

So I did a little research and found out that the ink cartridges for my printer (The C8727A #27 for Black and the C8728A #28 for 3 Color Cartridge) have a handy dandy serial number encoded on the chips that the printer reads and remembers the last 3 used and the ink level. I would kinda assume so if you stick a photo ink cartridge in there, that when you put the old one in, it will know its ink level, along with the photo cartridge when you put it back in there later on in life. Either way, this was getting in my way.

Resetting the cartridges wasn’t hard, just annoying. It requires taping off some contact points on the cartridge and reinserting the thing 3 times. Below are the instructions I used in order to make my printer think it is a new cartridge. You will have to use the image below the instructions to know exactly which pin I am talking about on the different cartridges. They are not actually colored in real life, but you should have known that.

  1. Turn printer on and take the cartridge out of the printer. I took the paper out also, otherwise it will print an alignment sheet every time you put the cartridges back in. Letting it not print one did not seem to bother the printer or cause the instructions to not work.
  2. Cover the pin marked in Red (see below) with tape on the cartridge you refilled. You can do both the Color and Black cartridges at the same time if you like.
  3. Put cartridge back in printer and shut access door and let the printer do its thing. Eventually it will stop making noises and indicate an error. Ignore it.
  4. Open cartridge access door and remove cartridge again. Add another piece of tape covering the pin marked Blue (see below). Both the Red and Blue marked pins need to be covered with tape. Be careful to not cover any other pins. Also, please note that the pin marked Blue is different for the Black and Color cartridges (I screwed this up the first time).
  5. Put cartridge back in and shut access door. Let printer do its thing until it stops making noises.
  6. Open access door again and remove cartridges for a final time. Remove all tape covering the pins and return the cartridge back into the printer.
  7. This time add some paper and print an alignment sheet in order to let the printer align the print heads properly.
  8. If you check your ink level, they should be marked as full. If not, sorry, I don’t know what happened. Try again.

The pins for the Black cartridge will work on the following cartridges: C6656A (#56) or C8727A (#27)
The pins for the Color cartridge will work on the following cartridges: C6657A (#57), C6658A (#58 Photo), or C8728A (#28)

Good luck resetting your ink levels.

~ by sandozme on September 22, 2008.

21 Responses to “How to Reset HP Ink Level (HP 27@28 and HP 21@22)”

  1. good info .. thanks

  2. Do your instructions work with HP black ink #21?

  3. I have an HP J3640 (“HP J3600 series”) all in one. I used your connection tape-over method two times after refilling just the black #21 with a fine hypodermic needle. The procedure did not apparently reset anything and I continued to get the blinking exclamation point on the front panel and the low ink warning screen on the pc. A couple of days later I printed a document from a networked pc and glory be, the ink level display came up on the main pc and was normal! It showed the black at about 80%, right where it should be! The color cartridge #22 also read correctly (about 15%). (I did not fill or reset the color cartridge with the tape procedure.) Over those couple of days I don’t believe power was lost, but I did cold reboot the main pc one time. Whatever did it, I’m a happy camper – for now.

  4. Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

  5. Itryied this! Working! Thank you!

  6. WOOOOW! NICE IT WORKS FOR ME 100% I refill my cartridges 3x.. and nothing seems to have a problem… THank you so much… Godspeed

  7. 100% working! thanks

  8. I have HP Deskjet D2360
    HELP ME!!!

  9. They aren’t making it easy to refill cartridges anymore are they? I was going to say this would work with the 56, 57 and 58 cartridges but I just saw you had that covered. Thanks for sharing the great info.

  10. it worked, thanks very much for your help. Steph

  11. thanks

  12. http://computersolut.blogspot.com/2010/10/ink-levels-reset-for-hp-cartridges-hp21.html

  13. Wowww!!! Its simply superb… Its working for my HP21 & HP21b

    Thank You So much!!!!!!!!

  14. With this trick I will be able to use the same cartridges forever??? or Does It only work few times?

  15. I HAVE HP DESKJET D2360, WITH 21 AND 22 CARTRIDGE. AFTER REFILING PRINTER IS RECOGNIZING NR.22 BUT NR.21 BLACK NOT. LED ON ON BUTTON IS BLINKING. WHEN I PLACE SOME OTHER CARTRIDGE HP.21- OLD AND EMPTY PRINTER STOPS BLINKING AND IN SUPPORT PROGRAMS SHOWS IT IS FULL. I HAVE TRIED TO RESET MY REFILLED HP21 WITH TAPE FEW TIMES BUT DOESNT WORK. DOES ANYONE KNOW HOW TO HELP, PLEASE.
    REGARDS TO EVERYBODY, SORRY FOR BAD ENGLISH..

  16. Quite Simple. Thanks.

    Word of note, this will require an alignment page to be printed, since the printer now considers this to be a new tank of ink.

  17. Great job dude. I simply wasted many catridges. thanka for this information. now its working. Thanks a lot.

  18. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! =)

  19. Worked like a charm. Thank you1

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

